Automating calibration using first layers

Hi all,

I’m new to 3D printing - had my Mini for less than a week. I get pretty good prints just using the Cura Lulzbot profiles, but I’ve been seeing some artefacts in some kinds of print, and started reading through various guides and posts on this forum.

Something I noticed is that everyone is very slowly calibrating their machines by doing one print after another, adjusting settings between prints. To my (perhaps naive) mind, this could be automated to some extent.

I’m thinking of software that generates a grid of copies of a small test object to cover the whole print bed. Initially it only uses the first layer, and generates gcode using a parameter sweep over all the settings that people usually adjust. It prints all the objects, one object at a time, in a single print run. It displays a map on screen so you can see which objects have which settings. Then you rate the print on various artefacts for each position in the grid. If you’ve got a perfect print, you now know the best settings for the first layer, and the software moves on to do a similar process for increasing numbers of layers. If not, the software generates a new grid of settings for the first layer, and the process repeats until you get something good.

Does something like this exist? I googled quite a bit, but couldn’t find anything. If it doesn’t exist…

1. Would people find something like this useful?
  2. Am I missing something obvious that would stop this approach from working?

My background is science software development (bioinformatics), including parameter optimisation for experiments. I’m lazy and impatient, so I’ll write the software to make this less painful unless there’s a good reason not to.

Nice idea, but…
The question is, what artefacts do you want to fight with this software? Usualy, you have 3 steps:

1. Bed leveling: No software needed, only the proper tool and a sheet of paper or a feeler gauge or dial indicator.