Confused: need help understanding software options

Hello everyone,
My name is Amie and I am extremely new to the 3d printing world. I’ve watched 3d printers for over 10 years, but waited until now, when prices and options were significantly improved. I purchased the Lulzbot Mini 4 weeks ago and I had absolutely no idea that printing would be so complicated. I have a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science, but still find myself out of my element with all of the different software options and choices.

I have read ‘A Strategy for Obtaining Great Prints’ and ‘Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts’ by mhackney and have been able to get good looking, simple, 3d objects printed. (Thank you mhackney!) Now I am ready to move up to a little bit more difficult objects, but this is where my confusion starts.

1 - I have only used Cura so far, and read the documentation a few times. I still don’t understand the difference between gcode and the ini file. Is there detailed documentation explaining all features of gcode and the ini files? I would like to be able to modify these. They only way I was able to get descent prints was to modify the fan speed, but I still don’t know exactly what I was doing.

2 - In the Cura documentation it mentions Slic3r. I downloaded and ran it, but can’t figure out what it is supposed to be doing. My main question is, once you make changes, do you output to gcode and then upload that file to Cura? Because I couldn’t figure out how to print from SLic3r and couldn’t find any information in the documentation.

3 - The Slic3r documentation mentions the program Pronterface and gives a link for download. This link goes to a GitHub directory and I have no idea how to find the download inside of GitHub…or even if I need Pronterface, or what it does.

I just want a breakdown of the software I need in order to create advanced prints; I don’t want a list of 20 software packages that all do the same thing. Can someone help me with this?

Thank you.