Downloading STL files

Hi
I am new to 3D printing.
I am trying to download STL files from Thingiverse but my computer keeps prompting me for a program.
But i dont know what program to download so that I can then save the STL files from Thingiverse.
I hope to then open them in 123D.
Can anyone help please. :smiley:

There are two ways to download STL files from Thingiverse. You can download individual *.stl files by clicking on them, or you can download all files for a given design as a ^.zip file. For example, if you go to one of my designs http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:451236 and click on the blue ā€œDownload this Thing!ā€ button, it opens the file selection window. If you click on any of the individual files in there, it will download the STL file directly. If you click instead on the blue ā€œDownload All Filesā€ button, it will prompt you to download a compressed zip file, in this particular case called ā€œTimROV_-_An_Open_Source_Scout_Class_Remote_Operated_Vehicle.zipā€

There might be a customizer program that goes with a few of the parametric things that can be adjusted, but other then that you shouldnā€™t be seeing a program download from thingiverse unless you donā€™t have adobe flash player installed or maybe java if it requires it for the model viewer. Which specific program is it prompting you for?