First ABS print not starting properly - first layer partly thin and blotchy

I’ve just got a new Amazon Warehouse deal Lulzbot Mini, and have successfully downloaded and connected Cura 2.6.52 to drive it from my Windows 10 laptop.

It’s my second 3D printer, but I didn’t use my first one much (a Velleman K8200) so I’ve some but limited experience. And no previous experience of Cura in any version - I used Repetier Host for the Velleman.

This version of the Cura software looks very different from the enclosed printed User Guide, and also the downloadable user guide on the lulzbot.com website - maybe it will be updated soon?

However, in spite of that, I’ve successfully printed the test Rocktopus in PLA, and also a prototype of my own design - a food can cover for small cans (cans with 67mm OD) also in PLA. I printed them both at the medium speed and standard quality profile setting.

Both had problems starting properly, but at the second or third attempt I got good results from both. First attempts seemed to print as if the model wasn’t level on the bed in the software - the second Rocktopus ‘foot’ printed completely in the air, and didn’t stick to the bed. And the Mini didn’t draw a perimeter around it, until my later successful print. I aborted those prints at about layer 4 or 5.

In both cases, the successful print had an even and complete perimeter and first layer, so I don’t think the bed is mechanically too far off-level, and the Mini went through its automatic nozzle wiping and levelling routine first time both for the PLA prints and my latest attempts with ABS.