Fun with PETG

OK, so I’m fairly new to 3D printing, and have spent that time with PLA. I moved over to PETG to try something new. I printed the following object in PLA with no issues, with PETG, not so much.

I’m using eSun true white.
Temp of 239
Bed at 70
No cooling fan
Filament measures pretty true @ 3.0

The bottom layer and fill seemed to go just fine, but as it made its way to the to layer, well, take a look…

I"LL take any and all suggestions : )

Are you using Cura? It looks like your top layer might be too thin and it is getting too hot. I run my fan at 0 for the first layer and at 40% for layers 2 & up with PETG and it turns out great.

Yup, using Lulzbot Cura. Thanks for the hint. I’ll give it a try tonight. what temp do you use for the filament?

I found it depends a bit on layer height and infill settings/speed. I have a profile I’ve been working on for taller layers, 0.35mm. It was stripping the filament. I found that increasing the extruder temp by 10C, it stopped happening. For slower settings, 0.1mm, I find I can use a lower temp. I try to keep the temps down with PETG, as it’s stringy already. The strings are usually really easy to remove though, just rubbing the part by hand seems to get 90% of them.

Extruder - 245
Bed - 60
Bed removal temp - 45

For 0.35mm, I went up to 255.

I’m using Simplify3D, but generally I try to make the first layer about 0.4mm and the top layer a little thicker. If I’m using thick sides, I usually make the top/bottom about the same thickness.

For a large flat part like that, with low infill, the top layers need some thickness to level out.

I’m using eSun PETG, they spec it for 2.85mm and that’s about what I get. I don’t have the white though. Perhaps that’s different. Just making sure you got a good measurement for it in the slicer. I’ve been very happy with the transparent blue. I have a roll of black here I need to try.