Gaps in print Taz 6

I’m a newbie Taz 6 owner, and am trying to print some mould parts, which don’t need to be ultra detailed, so I changed nozzle to 0.8mm. I’m now getting these strange gaps in the print, which was also happening with the 0.5 nozzle ( though not as extreme!)
Anyone seen this issue? Assuming it’s some hidden Cura setting?
Thanks in advance, Sebastien

Could be an issue with the STL. Can you share it?

My initial guess would be that it’s a thin wall. There is a setting for “Print thin walls” you can check.

Hi Wrathernaut, thanks for the reply…I tried the ‘Print thin walls’ option with no difference. It’s a very strange thing! I attach another photo that shows how badly it’s printing… You can see the feeder wheel pull back (retract?) at the points where the prints are bad, so I’ve tried playing about with the retraction settings and the flow, but no change. It’s a brand new nozzle too.
I have loads of other printers working just fine on my Print farm, so don’t think it’s the STL.
Grateful for any other suggestions.
Cheers Seb
Taz6

Can you share the STL file and what version of Cura are you using?

The linear advance/K-value settings might be stacking together, so it’s stopping flow too soon.

A screenshot of the layer view of the file from Cura might help determine what’s going on also.

Is it possible that you have the slicer setting for a toolhead with a 0.5mm nozzle versus your newly installed 0.8mm nozzle?

Nozzle size merely affects the recommended layer/width sizes, with Cura highlighting values that aren’t a good match in the slicer. At .5 or .8mm, you still need to extrude the same volume of material through it to get a specified line width and height.