Having issues

I’m new to printing. I have mini and this is what it’s doing.
It printing with esun hips. Any help would be welcome.

Your z offset is wrong, that means your first layer starts too far above the print bed. You can change this in cura under "machine settings ".
Second, you are over extruding. Measure your filament diameter precisely and enter it in cura. If your value is already set correctly, you need to do an e steps calibration.

Like Seb said -measure your filament. If you don’t have one, invest in a digital caliper. They are very inexpensive and a “required” tool for 3D printing. Measure every time before you print in a half dozen places along the filament until you get a feel for how consistent it is. Expect every reel to be different. The reel may say it’s 3mm, but that usually means around 2.85mm. What temperatures and fan settings are you using? I started off keeping a log book of my settings and then just saved Cura Profiles for each color and type of filament.

Best regards,
PCH

Thank you. Is there a measurement or a reference dimension on how far the extruded should be away from the print bed?

Looking at your pictures you look to possibly have a mechanical issue with your mahine. You look to have sudden direction shifts in the extrusion that are causing filament to pile up in spots and have gaps in other places.

Kman
I purchased my mini as an open box on eBay. I had to replace the y axis stepper motor. Any thought on what other mechanical issue there might be? Lulzbot support suggested the z offset as well. Any advice is greatly appreciated, thank you.

I don’t have a Mini, but the setup instructions (probably available on Lulzbot site if you didn’t get them) should cover setting/checking the Z offset.
https://download.lulzbot.com/Mini/1.0/documentation/quick_start_guide/QuickStart_Mini_8.5x5.5_PAGES.pdf
You also didn’t mention what Temperatures you are using for the Extruder and Bed with your HIPS filament.