Having trouble with details

Hey guys I am very new to 3d printing (got my mini 3 days ago). I have tried printing a few things and I have been getting weird results.

If u look at the rocktapus you will see what I mean. It seems like the white one, which is mine, the plastic seems like it isn’t melting. The lines are very obvious. I also printed a phone case and notice how it looks and how one side is thin and the other side of the edge is way thicker.

I am using eSun Hips filimant, using the high detail on the case and first run profile for the rocktapus.

I am sure it’s me. Does anyone know why this is happening?

Phone case.

The rocktapus

Edit:
Here is another example of a print I tried to do.
The image below I generated GCode in cura, and exported to OctoPi
Settings:
Layer Height: 0.18
InFill: 80%
Initial layer thickness: 0 (I think this is what made the small tips of the top, come off mid print.)
Everything else is the default Cura profile settings for, HIPS High detail.

1. For your iphone case, it looks like you are overextruding. Check your setting for filament diameter and flow rate. Back off on the flow rate by a few percent and try again.

2. For your octopus, reduce your layer thickness. It looks like your octopus was sliced at thicker layer settings than the one lulzbot sent in the box.

-Jim

Just wanted to point out that if you are doing heavy infill, especially 100%, you can have serious problems with details (or even flat surfaces). I wish I knew where the article was I found about this.

But from personal experience, I was printing a disk at 100% infill, and man the surface was awful and super uneven. This article pointed out at 100% infill you lose detail. Granted that was an experiment, but other then that I think the highest I usually go is 40% (60% one or twice).