Hybrid Machine Head for 3D Printers

My name is Nathan Fuller, and I am a mechanical engineering student at Oregon State University. I have been working with a team of students and advisors over the past year to develop a hybrid tool head for 3D printers. The goal of this printhead is to increase print accuracy and finish by machining both in process and as a finishing step. We have partnered with Autodesk Inc. to help manage the complexity of the software required to make this vision a reality, and wanted to ask your opinion on the concept. We are currently gearing up for a kickstarter campaign, and are hoping to gauge interest in our product. Our goal is to deliver a product that turns new or existing 3d printers into a tool capable of delivering high tolerance parts through the addition of a CNC spindle.

Our Technical Summary is as follows:
Size: 140mm x80mm x 80mm (HxWxL
Weight: 250g
Print Head: Retractable E3D All Metal Bowden capable of printing PLA, ABS, Nylon and Polycarbonate
Spindle: 150W Brushless Motor with a ER11 Collet Chuck
Software: Generate and combine printing and machining g-code all within the same tool, as well as custom firmware to manage the transitions from additive to subtractive.

Please respond with any questions, or ideas regarding our product. Our goal is to become a provider of hybrid tool heads as well as eventually release a optimized printer designed specifically for hybrid machining.
Current Prototype:

Ok, I’ll bite

1. Is it going to be open source?
  2. How are you intending to use this thing? Most complex 3d printed parts that could benifit from surface finishing are not something that your average 3 axis mill is going to be able to reach unless you are doing a pass each layer, and if you are doing a pass in between each layer thats going to have some very entertaining thermal and layer adhesion consequinces.