Issues with what looks like layer alignment

Hello lulzbot community.

I’m pretty new to all this having gotten a lulzbot mini 2.0 back in November and only recently an enclosure and a box to keep my filament dry. I’ve recently begun to print a lot mroe than I used to as I’m printing out parts for a MPCNC.

I’ve run into an issue where parts of some layers are not aligned with the rest of the layer. I’m a new poster so I can only upload one image.

Hopefully above you can see my issue. Above are 2 prints I did back to back, but increasing the printing temperature between prints with issues at identical locations as far as I can tell. I contacted support as I was expecting I should do some sort of hardware maintence but they suggested it was the settings I have for my material and to ask on the forums, but I expected a more chaotic issue if I had bad settings.

Anyway, I’m printing hatchbox PLA, I can’t recall my higher temps, but I’m using the Village Plastics PLA preset in cura 3.6.21 on windows, with a layer height of 0.38. I’ve got the nozzle that came with my mini 2.0 on it still, 0.5mm nozzle.

Thanks for any advice anyone can give me! Let me know if I forgot to include some details.

edit: the image I uploaded is upside down, in case that is important.

This may be a belt tension issue or backlash compensation. It appears to be on just one axis. Since the shifts are in the same places on both parts it suggests that it’s not random per se… but based on the slicer path.

In other words … suppose it’s on the X axis… if the head moves to a specific position (say X=100.0mm) but travels from left to right … will it arrive in exactly the same spot if it travels to that same position by traveled from right to left?