Lulzbot Mini 1 first layer problems

I picked up a new-to-me Mini1 not too long ago. It otherwise prints beautifully, PETg is my main filament, and compared to other priners I’ve used this has been an absolute dream.

I do however, seem to have some strange first layer problems. Namely, even though autocalibration succeeds, I see some areas of the bed with great adhesion and others with less great. See photo for an example of this with a really large flat part. I’ve pretty much seen this on all parts to varying degrees, both with PLA and PETg, both using the stock Cura profiles for them. It was never an issue until now, where I’m printing really large base parts and the lack of adhesion is causing curling with PETg.

Observations:
Since I’m new to this printer but the printer is not new, I’m not sure which of these is normal. Everything is “stock” as far as I can tell that lines up with late model Mini1’s. I’m using Cura Lulzbot, with the “experimental” Chroma Strand INOVA-2008 PETg. I have an added LCD interface as well.

• Uneven first layer width (see photo). To the point that some strands are squished really heavily, while others are not touching their neighbors.

• Curling of really just one specific corner.

• Zprobe offset is set to -1.55 mm, which seems like it should be outside of spec. If I move closer to the stock -1.35 mm then nearly none of the strands connect. In fact, at -1.50 mm this starts to happen (see photo of partial print).

• Even when using some bits of PLA, I had similar first layer issues (see rocktopus photo).