Mini 2 inconsistent print start

Heads up, I’m not a pro with 3D printing. I manage exhibits at a kids museum and only have so much time to learn the ropes, though I do have IT troubleshooting and technical background that I’m not a complete beginner.

We installed a new HE 0.5mm tool head for our Mini 2, along with updating with the most recent firmware and selecting the new head on the printer’s info screen. The wiping/probing process before printing is inconsistent. Sometimes it will start its initial heating sequence, then crash into the wiping pad as if the Z height is off; the only thing I’ve been able to resolve that with is restarting the printer and reissuing the print command–sometimes it will take multiple retries of this to clear the issue. I make sure to home the print head via the Lulzbot software before clicking print.

Other times, it’ll wipe as expected, then zoom quickly up to the top, and come back down to probe but crash into the corner, as if Z 0 is far lower than the bed. That, again, is resolved by power cycling the printer and trying the print command again. I just reinstalled the Cura software to see if that helped, but there seems to be no change.