New printer and eSun PLA+

Hey everyone. I am new to 3D printing and just picked up a TAZ 6 and so far I am loving it! My first reel of filament is eSun PLA+ in black. I have printed a few things, all under the default for eSun PLA using Cura and it prints real well. However, I think I am having over-extrusion. Maybe you guys can verify that. Still learning all of the tips, tricks and such. I made a case and it has some lines/bumps in the outside.

Changed the filament diameter to 3.00 and did a second print of a friend’s logo and it looks much better.

Do you guys have any tips on some of these settings in Cura? I see more often than not other printers having shell thickness at 1.5-2mm. Is that better than having it at 1mm? I think the default settings are pretty good to stat with, just trying to get the most out of the printer. overall, I am pleased with the PLA+. I look forward to getting into other materials but for a first filament and PLA in general, I think it is pretty good.

Thanks, Rich

Hi Rich,

You will no doubt see many responses about measuring your filament diameter and setting it correctly in the software. That as well as alternatively turning down the flow rate slightly. After doing a little research I’ve decided that the filament manufacturers I buy from (primarily eSun, Hatchbox, and Taulman) are fairly accurate in that if they specify 3.00mm as the size, that is what I use. If they specify 2.85mm that is what I use. The eSun HIPS I’ve actually gone in and edited the default profiles so that even if I use quickPrint settings the filament diameter is what I set it to.

I also always try to keep shell thickness a multiple of the nozzle diameter.l and thicker shells result in stronger parts which allow me to reduce infill many times.