PLA print with no solid base

I have been printing on my TAZ 5 for a couple months with great results with a couple rolls of PLA. I needed to switch to a new one and noticed problems with prints. The attached picture shows problems with the base layer and the final print ends up with a number of problems. Most commonly its poorly formed holes, where the perimeters are not connected to each other nor to the infill.

I have tried pretty much everything to improve the prints without success including changing the print temp, filament size, flow percent, and print speed with no success. It seems like this new roll of Argos 3mm silver is under extruding but my attempts to extrude more seemed to have no affect in the quality. After about a dozen partial prints I am out of ideas of what could have changed. I even re-leveled the bed in case the head was too high.

I tried printing something with a little left over filament from an old roll and seemed to noticed some similar problems (although not as bad) so I am not sure if the issue is with my machine, the filament or the print settings.

http://imgur.com/5ac5ayh

It looks like it could be under extruding. Did you measure the filament diameter and enter that in your slicer? It may not be the 2.85 mm which is the Cura default setting. Which program are you using? It’s also possible the filament is slipping and you may need to tighten the idler retainer. It can become loosened when changing filaments.

I am using the Lulzbot version of Cura. The actual filament diameter seems to be around 2.85-2.9 mm. I have not tried a size less then 2.85 but I guess I could try 2.75 or 2.8 and see if it helps.