PLA to ABS

Hey everyone :slight_smile:

I’m a newbie to 3D printing and of course I got my hands on a Taz 4. I’m going to be switching from ABS to PLA, vice versa. I have ABS loaded in my printer now. Should I let the printer head heat up, remove the ABS filament as it heats up, and unload the filament as gets softer in the print head? Do I then let is cool before loading the PLA?

And as far as printing with PLA, I’ve read so many mixed things for so many printers. For the Taz 4, do I need blue tape, cool bed, heated bed, or glue stick, etc? I’m a bit confused :frowning:

Here’s how I switch from ABS to PLA:
(Be careful of course, because the extruder will be hot enough to seriously burn you if you touch it.)
After I printed my last ABS print, I cut the ABS filament off a few inches above the extruder and put the ABS away.
So now I mount the PLA roll, thread it through the guide tube, and then heat up the extruder to ABS temperature.
Just as it’s coming up to temperature, I relieve the tension on the feeder and pull out the ABS stub with long-nose pliers.
Then I insert the PLA, pushing it into the extruder until I see molten plastic flowing from the nozzle.
I quickly tighten the feed tension and I begin extruding 5 - 10 mm at a time via Pronterface.
I watch for the color change, and I continue extruding a bit after the color has fully changed to the PLA filament.
I quickly turn the extruder temperature down to the PLA setting and I keep extruding every few seconds because I don’t want the high temperature to creep up into the tube above the hot end, as this could cause a jam from expanding/melting PLA. I keep extruding until the temperature is close to the PLA setting.

This will be difficult if your ABS and PLA are the same color, so you should do it with different colors first and keep track of how much you had to extrude before the ABS was flushed out. You don’t want to decrease the temperature until you’re sure all the ABS is purged from the extruder.