Taz 5 usability

Can anyone give me an idea (or point me towards a source) that will help me understand just how difficult it is to use the Taz 5 if I have never owned a 3D printer before? Lulzbot seems to really try and push first time users towards the Mini but I want the bigger build envelope and option to go to two heads.

I consider myself technically savvy and I don’t have a problem reading technical documentation and searching the web for solutions. I do my own home wiring (including 240v) and I’m a decent amateur coder. On the other hand, I don’t have any electronics experience.

Thoughts?

Many thanks.

It depends upon how patient you are. Its hard to go wrong with Aleph, as they have great support, and the Lulzbots are great printers. That said, they are much better printers if you invest time in the actual process, which requires an understanding of how the various slicers work, and how to tweak for materials.

There are so many factors that go into getting successful prints: bed temperature, extruder temperature, feed rates, variable layer thicknesses, and so on, and this stuff takes time and experience to successfully navigate. Eventually, it will all make sense, but it can be a wild ride getting there, not to mention expensive, at least in terms of materials.

Adding to the complexity is the fact that you are creating physical objects from digital data using a manufacturing process. There are forms that are going to cause you trouble, and if you understand how to break down these forms and simplify for the process, you can mitigate those issues and get a good print. Guys like James Bruton of X Robots offer great Youtube videos that really help. Understanding that you rarely will print something complex as a single part is a great start. In fact, if you look at the whole process as printing a series of parts for later assembly, you will already be on the road to success in many cases (though not all.)