Taz5 Extruder Driver Failed...Can I trick it?

Appears that my Rambo board Ex0 stepper driver has failed. I swapped my extruder stepper to the X axis harness it it spun using the manual axis adjustment.

Anyone know how I can run off the Ex1 driver output? There must be a way either in the gcode or in the firmware to trick it…

Unfortunately I don’t think it is as easy as some gcode commands, but it can be done by downloading the Lulzbot Marlin source, changing the pins from Ex0 to Ex1 in one of the files, compiling it, and flashing it. I have done this many times so if you need help with any of that just let me know.

Yes I would appreciate that! I have never worked with Arduino code before, but I’m am pretty sure I can handle it. Any links to the right downloads would be helpful.

Thanks!!

If you want, I could build an image for you quickly so you can flash it and test it. All I would need to know is which toolhead you are using. If you want to do it yourself, the easiest way is probably getting Arduino for linux (I have had major issues on windows when doing this, but thats not to say it wont work) and downloading the Taz 5 source from here: http://download.lulzbot.com/Software/Marlin/1.1.9.28. Configure the “Configuration_LulzBot.h” for the Taz 5 and then search for the file “pins_Rambo.h”. It looks like Lulzbot already has it set to switch the pins with just one argument, so you could also look into doing it this way. But changing the whole block in pins_Rambo.h to this

#if defined(LULZBOT_SWAP_EXTRUDERS)
#define E0_STEP_PIN        33
#define E0_DIR_PIN         42
#define E0_ENABLE_PIN      25

#define E1_STEP_PIN        34
#define E1_DIR_PIN         43
#define E1_ENABLE_PIN      26
#else
#define E0_STEP_PIN        33
#define E0_DIR_PIN         42
#define E0_ENABLE_PIN      25

#define E1_STEP_PIN        34
#define E1_DIR_PIN         43
#define E1_ENABLE_PIN      26
#endif

should work just fine.