Under size prints

I having a problem with my prints being undersized. Seem to be in all directions.

Part is supposed to be 1.300" in Z and it measures 1.290" the .010" seems to be about what it is under everywhere.

Material is ABS
layer height .2mm
Noz temp 240
bed temp 110
flow 95%

First layer I have the over extrusion set to 100% not the default 150% I believe.

Being a machinist I guess Im being pretty picky. Should this be something I should just accept?

Check what you have your filament diameter set to and measure your filament in 5-10 places and take the average. The software usually sets it to 2.85mm but sometimes it can be higher or lower than this. Put in the average value for your specific filament. I’ve had some filament come in at 3.01mm.

Assuming that is correct, bump your flow rate up a percent or two, print, and measure again and see if your OD distance is better. I always assume my part will be off by about 0.2mm and account for this on my press fits and dimensions in my design.

YRMV,
Jim

Did you print out a calibration cube to verify you do not need to calibrate and adjust your X/Y/Z step settings in firmware.

I did not know this was a option and would like to do that for sure! Is this cube just a say 20x20 cube? Or is it a test print that I can find in the software? Also where are the firmware options.

This did not work but got me a little closer.

Yes just download, slice then print a 20X20X20 cube or make your own. Then measure it and if it does not match the dimensions you used then adjust the steps in firmware.

Look in the Configuration menu on the LCD just above the ESteps. Or if you have a Mini you can use gcode commands like M503 to see what they are currently set at. This command also gives you the commands to use to change them as part of its output.

I will give this a try. I have a Mini so not to confident on how to do the commands.