Z Axis HIPS compressing?

I’m still pretty new to 3D Printing, and I’ve been doing some decent prints using HIPS.
I’ve started noticing something in some of my prints, where it seems either the print head or the material is compressing or collapsing. I’ve attached two images from my latest print.
You’ll see there is a good portion of the lower part of the print where there is plastic that seems to be bulging out. It seems to resolve itself later on, after a certain height.
The print was made with standard HIPS settings in Cura.
As a side note, I’ve also noticed when I tried PLA with this print, it seems like the head was grinding over the surface of the print when it moved over the body of it to the other side.

Thoughts?
Thanks,
Dower

It could just be an artifact of removing the part from the bed, but it looks to me like you had a bit of lifting off of the bed in the center. That, coupled with a possibly incorrect filliament diameter setting inside of CURA (measure the exact diameter with calipers, update it from the default 2.85 or 3.00 to match) may be leading to overextrusion. Try backing the infil down from 100% at first if you have it up that high, adjust the filliament, and if that doesn’t do the trick, potentially calibrate your extruder esteps.

Thanks for the quick reply Piercet, I’ll check my settings again when I’m home. If I need to calibrate the esteps, how do I do that on the mini?

It should be pretty close out of the box unless you flashed the firmware and forgot to enter the correct esteps value, but here’s a guide on how to do it yourself. http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-calibrate-the-Extruder-on-your-3d-Printer/

Thanks, hopefully I won’t need to play with that, but it’s good to know.