My first two prints came out not smooth with layers wanting to separate

Hi, I just set up my mini today and printed with HIPS. The octopus was not smooth. You can see each wrap of filament around and around so it doesnt seem well blended or melted together. Then I tried to make a thimble. There was zero layer adhesion to one another it’s just a coil of plastic. What am I doing wrong? I selected HIPS and set extruder to 240. Thank you SO much! I’m brand new to this.

Hips is a terrible filament to start with. My recommendation would be to order a roll of anything else to start with. Aside from that, post some pictures of the resulting print and we can go from there to diagnose. It may be that you have the filament diameter set wrong. If its off you can get the effect you describe.

Thank you! The same thing happened after I cleaned it. The filament that’s getting extruded right from the extruder is wavy (like if I just extrude 10cm). Then when it comes out, it’s not sticking to the bed so it just gets dragged around in a crumbled ball.
How do I change the set filament diameter

I assume you are using Cura and are using quickprint. Are you positive you have the HIPS option setting selected? I ask for two reasons – the curly extrusion could be from too low of a temperature and you also mention that you are setting the temperature to 240.

If you are using quickprint, the only place to set the filament temperature to 240 is in the popup window where you press print. Depending on when you set that temperature, your setting will get over-ridden. So for example, if you had PLA selected in the main window, got the printer control popup, changed the temp to 240 in that popup, and then pressed print, the nozzle would never go above 205 due to temperature settings embedded in the gcode for your object that will be sent to the printer after your 240C command is sent.