z AXIS moves are inconsistent

I’ve been having problems with he Z axis lately. I first noticed the issue when the two side were unmatched enough to bind. I leveled them and thought all was ok except a little overextrusion. While watching closely as a small disk grew ib height I noticed the Z axis motors moved in inconsistent amount. The layer size was set to 0.15 mm. Normal movement seemed to be about 10 degrees of motor rotation, but every second or third layer increase was either no rotation, or maybe 5 degrees,

I have searched the website and the web and haven’t seen anyone else mention this behavior. I’ve loosed every mounting bolt holding the Z rods in place but it still seems to skip or understep every other layer. A larger layer height misses much less. Is there an optimal “step” amount the the motors and or controller like better? I’m also wondering if it’s a rounding problem in the firmware.

I’m new to stepper controllers so it will take a while to figure out how many steps are needed for various heights, then try those out in the slicer. If someone has any insight please let me know. Fine printed objects are much poorer in quality than fast prints because the faster print doesnt miss every other step.

I’m using a reprap hexagon hot end with a .40 nozzle on my TAZ5 , getting ready to convert to bowden for dual extruders becasue the flexydually is simplly too heavy and poorly balanced. Ideally one extruder on each side of the X axis rods might work better Any weight not being pushed around constanty has to be better. At least with ABS and a 20mm fan and shroud on the hex fins keeps the filiment cool going into the hotend so a bowden setup should be ok.