General Help with Taz 4

Hello,
I am new to 3D printing and bought a Taz4 for my school to use. I have so far been pretty unsuccessful. I did finally get a sucessful ocotpus last friday though!! My prints will start out ok but fail quickly. One problem is that the filament is getting stipped by the hobbed bolt. The question I have right now is that when I extrude filament from a height of 40-50 mm the extrusion doesn’t go straight down but instead will often begin to curl up and stick to the nozzle. I think this is part of my printing problem. Shouldn’t the extrusion drop straight down? If it is, what is causing mine to curl out and what can I do about it?
Thanks
Jpcubed

That curling is normal. it’s the outer layer of the extruded bit cooling faster than the inside, causing it to contract in one direction or another. That should have no impact at all on printing.
You should not be seeing filliament stripping right away. There are several causes of that that you may need to adjust for.

1. Nozzle pressure. If you are too close to the bed at start, or if you don’t have the filliament diameter set properly, you can end up extruding too much filliament which will eventually back up the nozzle, causing a blockage that causes the filliament to stop feeding and then strip out. You should take a look at the user manual for the Taz 4, and run the bed calibration gcode until the starting layer looks like the “proper bed adhesion” picture. Make sure all the corners are level and calibrated properly across the entire pass, etc.