Issue using a Taz5 w/ Octoprint on Pi.

I am very new to this all and could use some guidance. I have purchased a Taz 5, Raspberry Pi, and installed Octoprint.

For the life of me I cannot get it to communicate with the fork of Cura because it only wants a serial port which are amazingly absent from both.

Has anyone managed to get this combo working? I want to use the Pi due to lack of spare PC’s for the purpose and it’s location. Seems a networking module for the Taz 5 would make things a bit easier but…

Thanks.

There may be a different way of using Octoprint in conjunction with Cura. But my workflow is to slice the project, save the gcode file then upload the file to Octoprint (drag and drop) over the network.

I think OctoPi uses Cura 15.04 so you would set up the Cura on the Pi with the profile you want to use/slice with. Drag/Drop the STL file into the OctoPrints’ Web page and wait for the Pi to slice it. Then print it out using the web page for the OctoPrint application on the Pi. YMMV with this approach though.

That isn’t my current issue. Currently it only wants a serial connection, which the Pi has none. I have the pleasure of learning both a new technology type, new operating system type, and pretty much new everything else. Kind of like when I first starting getting into networking, it’s entirely an alien environment and just trying to find the logic to the madness.

The control board in the printer connects via a USB to serial bridge. To the computer connecting to it, it looks like a serial port. You see this on a PC as well, Windows uses COM ports, Linux/OSX use /dev/tty* devices, etc… I haven’t set up a Pi to control my Mini yet, but that’s the basic idea.

There is usually an option to auto-detect the serial port, that should find the printer. If not, try to find it the long way…