Lulzbot Mini Wipe Setting

Hello all.

I’ve been creeping for a while, and decided to make an account in hopes of seeking some help.

I’ve owned my Mini for about 2-3 months now and it’s absolutely amazing. However, I find that my mini cleans rather aggressively. The guiding rods and bed frame actually bend slightly when it cleans. Lately I’ve been printing single objects (many times over) to avoid stringing from object to object when the printer goes through each layer. And I find I’m doing far more wiping cycles then I need to be. I fear I’m putting more stress on the printer than it needs. I always preheat my printer and manually clean the printhead anyways.

So my question is: Has anyone modified their gcode to skip this step entirely? I don’t mind the auto levelling phase, I found that thread. I just want to get rid of the wipe phase. I am new to gcode and how it works. It seems fairly easy to read and the steps in the code are straightforward. Now, I’m not saying coding it is, merely saying I can just read haha. I thought about just removing the wiping section, but wasn’t sure if that would just corrupt everything.

Anyways, really new to gcode, would love to see if anyone has figured this out and would really appreciate any and all help in the matter. Thanks in advance!

Edit:
Video of a clean cycle. This cycle isn’t as bad as some others I’ve had.
https://youtu.be/STtYHV57twI

T

If you prefer manually cleaning, there’s no reason you can’t eliminate the wiping movements from the start gcode.

Alternately, if it is pushing down too hard on the wiper pad during cleaning, just change the z coordinate in the start gcode. And looking at your video, it is pushing down too hard. Across different firmware versions and different sub-models of the mini, the correct height for the wiper does vary by 1-2mm, but it’s easy to change in the start script. Just look for the Z values, and add 0.5 or 1.00 to them - then run another print and monitor the new wipe sequence.