Lulzbot Taz PRO vs. Ultimaker S3

TLDR up front: can the lulzbot taz pro really print more materials than the ultimaker s3, and if so which materials are added over the latter?

Long version:

Hey all, my father in law wants to give me a 3d printer as a gift, and now I’m having to choose between all the options. I’ve basically narrowed the choice down to being between the Ultimaker S3 and the Lulzbot Taz PRO, as those are around the budget he’s given me and seem to have the best reviews in terms of reliability, amounts of available materials and ability to use dual extruders.
I’ve got some limited experience using very cheap and error prone 3d printers at uni and at hackathons, but this will be my first 3d printer, so I’m also happy to hear both machines are said to be easy to work with.
I think I’m leaning towards the Ultimaker S3, since I like how it’s enclosed out of the box (for more stable print environment and less dust and wind, has built in wifi monitoring and is wirelessly operable, and the print quality on fast print settings is supposed to be better. That being said, I like that the maximum print dimensions of the taz pro are considerably bigger and that it’s commited to open source hardware, but I think those two benefits don’t outweigh the benefits of the ultimaker s3 (feel free to convince me otherwise, or remind me of differences I’m missing).
The main thing keeping me on the fence, then is that I read in the only review comparing a lulzbot and an ultimaker (both slightly older models, though) that “The Ultimaker 3 also can’t compare to the number of filament types supported with the Lulzbot Taz 6”.
I’m definitely interested in using more exotic filaments, so this could sway me, if true. But with all the brand names and asterixis, I’ve not been able to find out specifically which materials could be printed on either that would not be available on the other. So does anyone here have experience/ expertise on the matter?