mini - y axis endstop and thwap thwap thwap

I’ve been using my mini now for a few months and I really enjoy.

Today while doing the preprint gcode it started going thwap thwap thwap. This was happening at the y-axis seek, where the bed was furthest to the rear (head at the front). It would do this for a while making quite a racket, then would proceed. I canceled the print and tried again a few times, and it would do the same each time.
I let it print after four or five times and the print seems normal.

I didn’t change the gcode or anything else related to the settings.

anything I should do to adjust or fix this problem? I searched the forums and didn’t find another thread with this problem.

Check that your endstop sensors are still connected and that your belt is still tight. Also make sure the motor pulley sets crews are still tight.

I powered off and checked the sensors are connected. I can manually switch them mechanically with my fingers placed on them and there doesn’t seem to be any debris. The stepper shaft still seems tight.

When I powered back on and manually control, the endstop works as expected. I don’t know of another way to test.

Unfortunately, the problem is still occurring, with the harsh sound of the stepper motor grating at the same position as described above during the presequence. I am not going to attempt additional prints until I can resolve.

Sounds to me like the motor is driving the Y axis to far in one direction. After the Home routine it should keep track of its position and its not. Either the belt is too loose or the pulley on the motor is slipping. When you look at the motor pulley the set screw should be lined up with the flat on the motor shaft. As already suggested that setscrew can be loose, use the proper allen wrench to check.

Or you could have idler bearing problems or other, but above is the more likely. A call to Lulzbot support might be in order.