Layer Height - .22mm
No supports
Slic3r Version: 1.1.7
Slic3r Config: Lulzbot ABS Medium Config
CAD software: FreeCAD
Sending gcode with Printrun

ini and stl attached
gcode is 10MB, not sure how to upload.

I am new to 3d printing and this is the first machine I have owned. I am trying to print a simple cylindrical object with a flat base for use as a cup holder. After several prints and adjustments I am still having significant issues with layer adhesion.

Initially, it was obvious we had an issue with the bed plate level. The cylinder printed extremely lopsided and would error out after about 10mm up the z-axis (one pretty disastrous as you will see). We printed on painters tape because we had a little accident with the PET tape the printer shipped with (oops). We knew we had an issue with either z-axis level or the painters tape was throwing us off.

Yeah, this isn’t right. Notice how lopsided the base piece is in the lower left

Another not so hot attempt

We got our PET tape in so we laid that on the bedplate. We also adjusted the z-axis to get a snug fit of paper under the nozzle at all 4 corners. The print looked promising while printing. We needed to super glue a spot mid print but overall it was looking much better than our previous attempts. However, it was all for show, for when we tried to remove it, layers snapped apart in a slinky like fashion.

Looking better at initial print

45 degree angle cleared with some errors, super glue applied at the bottom of 45

Removal Results

Top section separates like a slinky

Poor adhesion at the base as well

45 section is actually pretty strong

After this we switched to IC3D Blue ABS 3mm Filament and changed the layer height to .14mm, same settings otherwise. The result was really nasty.

Now I am just looking for advice on getting a solid print or maybe a suggestion as to why we are having so many problems.
medium_ABS_no-support_pt35nzl_pt22layer.ini (3.18 KB)
printCupHolderBase.stl (157 KB)