Flexistruder Question

I’m new to printing and the ninjaflex seems like a pretty exciting filament. I have a few questions regarding the Flexistruder tool heads.

1. Does the Flexistruder print standard non-flexible filament well?

2. If so - why isn’t the Flexistruder standard on the TAZ 5? As I understand it, the main difference is how the filament is fed (clearances).

I get that the stock tool head can handle ninjaflex albeit poorly.

1. How much does it cost to build your own Flexistruder vs ordering one from Lulzbot? I haven’t seen many threads on here of people rolling their own. I’m not sure if that is because it’s a given and everyone does it - or if there is something stopping from people doing it.

2. Could I cannibalize my stock tool head, print my own parts and upgrade (assuming the Flexistruder can handle non-flexible filaments equally as well to the stock)?

These questions might be a little advanced for my current knowledge - I’m still learning the basics - just trying to look ahead.

Ideally, I’d love to print my own dual extruder tool head.

Hi, I have similar questions about flexystruder, here are official answers from lulzbot sales representative :

Do you mean the flexystruder is only for flexible filament, and I have to switch with the original extruder each time I change filament type ?

The flexystruder is designed to handle only flexible materials and you’ll have to swap back to the stock extruder if you want to print with stiff materials.

There is currently no FDM 3D printer that has a stock nozzle that can handle both.

I saw a great thing with it is to print different filament type (abs/hips for complex model support, or abs/flex for wheel). Does the dual flexystruder support those combinations, or simply 2 different colors of pla or abs ?