New mini owner

Hi guys,

I just bought my mini (and first 3d printer ever) yesterday. I’ve printed the rocktopus on standard detail and I was quite pleased by the result. Attached the pic.

However, I’ve changed the material to PLA and tried to print a 4cm tall model of a woman on high detail. It turned out quite melty in certain parts (legs and head, with the torso being quite good quality), could this be that the layer don’t have enough time to cool?

Also I’m using a 3d Prima PLA filament, while I guess it’s not as good as eSun or Village plastics it should still be good enough?

While I have your attention, what’s the setting most people use for good quality prints, do people go down to 50 microns?

Because I’m an almost complete noob, any help is appreciated.

Regards

If you start with the Lulzbot Cura PLA profile for the Mini and tweak the extrusion temperature and filament diameter to match your filament, you should end up with very good results. You might want to get things dialed in on a medium quality profile before you attempt the higher quality settings. In general, the thinner the layers you try to print, the more dialed in the printer and slicing settings will need to be.

OK, I’ll try and fiddle around with the material settings. I find PLA to be more finnicky than HIPS so far. What sort of layer height do you recommend for a part this small? Do I have to mess about with the cooling or should that be sorted if I print out more than one model at the same time?