Ninjaflex slab printing help

I am trying to print some 12cm x 12cm x 0.2cm slabs of Ninjaflex on a new Taz5 with Flexystruder. These are 100% fill, 0.2mm layer height, 1mm shell thickness, 30mm/s print speed, 230C printing temperature, 30C bed temperature, gluestick on the print bed, on a raft.

The filament jams in the extruder just after the raft starts to print.

I’ve tried raising the print temperature to 240, disabling retraction, and setting the travel speed to 30mm/s with no success.

I have printed many objects of various sizes with this unit and the Ninjaflex, but these slabs are giving me grief. Any suggestions?

I’m a noob and probably don’t know what I’m talking about, but why would the filament jam on a slab but not on other objects? Sounds like something changed that would also prevent you from printing other objects now as well. How does the hobbed bolt look? Clean or clogged? Maybe adjust the tension of the idler screws?

Could this be heat-creep related? If so:
https://forum.lulzbot.com/t/so-no-more-ao-101-uh/124/1

Looking forward to other responses…

Can not say I have ever tried to print a raft with Ninjaflex and its sticking properties. I just tend to turn off the bed and print on a bare glass plate.

Another thought.

After you make sure the hobbed bolt is not gummed up, do some practice extruding with pronterface and experiment with different extrusion speeds to get it just right. Then calculate and correctly set the corresponding print speeds (for rafts also) and it would have to work – no more filament jams.

I’m not an expert in Ninjaflex by any means, so consider these more guesses than anything.