Out of box print quality help

Hi all,

Just got in my Mini and am loving it so far! Have only done a few prints with it and wanted to post up a print quality question as I’m new to Cura & the Lulzbot family of printers.

• Print STL used: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:704409
  • My current Cura config file .ini (attached)
  • Photo of print below:

Please correct me if I’m wrong, but it appears to me that there is a filament flow issue here (currently set to “100”) as indicated by the gloppy top layer in the print photo…unless there is something else in my profile file that seems wrong right now I’ll most likely try adjusting the “filament_flow” setting first but I’m open to any suggestions - thanks!

/Aaron
HIPS_medium_mini_Aaron.ini (12.7 KB)

Measure the actual diameter of your filament and make sure that measurement matches the setting inside cura. That should help.

I have just gone through a lot of what you are experiencing. It was pretty frustrating given the glowing reviews about out of the box quality of the mini. From my own experience, and what I have seen pop up on the forums several times, there does seem to be a flow problem. For me the best settings so far have been at 90% sometimes as low at 85%. Yes that is after triple checking the diameter is set correctly in Cura.
I think there is something off, either in software or firmware that makes this a consistent problem.

For my own mini, the z-offset was also not set correctly. After some trial and error, a z-offset in the machine settings of 0.22mm has fixed a lot of the problems I had been having. I’m not positive how the z-offset works, I don’t know if the 0.22mm is replacing or adding to the offset in firmware.

Hope this helps some. Best of luck.