Printing for the first time

Hi;

I’m new to 3D printing, and am getting ready to print my first model. Before I do that I’d like to confirm my understanding of how my laptop is going to interact with my printer (which I haven’t bought yet, wanted a complete understanding of the process before I did so).

I first need to cut my .stl model into slices using Slic3r (any instruction manuals or tutorials on how to use Slic3r?). Once that’s done, I’m going to take Slic3r’s output and load it into a printer control program (the one I currently have downloaded is MatterControl). MatterControl will direct the actual printing.

Do I have that about right? Again, this will be the first time I’ve ever done this, I just wanted to confirm I had my process right.

Thank you.

The STL file is the geometry of your part. Lets say you wanted to print a hollow box. The STL has the walls and floor of that box as geometric reference coordinates. The Slicer program (usually slic3r or cura or one of the other ones) then takes that STL file and renders a gcode coordinate motion path for your 3d printer extruder. It literally tells the extruder “from your starting point, go 100mm that way and extrude x amount of plastic, then go here, then go here, etc.”. You can see how that coordinate system works if you open up one of the .gco gcode files in a text editor of some sort. From there, your printer control software (in your case matter control) reads that gcode file and applies any printer specific setting information that you have set and executes the file. Since 3d printers almost always print in layers, or slices, thats why generating the gcode file is called slicing the .stl file.