Troubleshoot Lulzbot Mini: won't connect to printer

Hi, I’m a public librarian trying to put on a program where teens can design an object in tinkercad and I will use our Cura Lulzbot Mini to print it for them. Nobody on staff knows how to use the printer, or knows if there was a designated computer to use with it (it is an old model without the attached screen). It hasn’t been used in at least 3 years. I downloaded the updated Cura software 3.6.37 but it won’t connect to the printer. I tried using a different USB cable and/or plugging it in to a different USB port on the computer to no avail. What should I do? Does the firmware need to be updated? If so, I imagine I’ll need to download an older Cura version to do so. How do I know which one to use, and where to download it from? I’m lost and would greatly appreciate any guidance. Thank you!

The current version of Cura (3.6.37) can flash the Mini.

Given that you’re at a public library, my first guess would be that the computer you’re trying to plug it into is a managed system with restrictions on USB that are preventing it from connecting.

If you can connect it up to a personal laptop, or that you can be sure isn’t restricted, that would go a long way toward helping diagnose.

There’s always the chance that the reason it wasn’t touched for three years is that somebody broke it. If you can give your location, there may be somebody in the area that can give you additional help.

You mentioning that it hasn’t even been used for several years reminded me of one possibility.

Some of the very early Mini 1 printers don’t connect at the same baud rate. You have to go into the machine settings in Cura and change the connection speed from 250000 to 115200. Then you can flash the firmware. With new firmware loaded, you will need to go back and change the connection speed back to 250000 since that is what the new firmware connects at. Worth a try if it is an early Mini 1 printer.