Why is Cura so slow?

Ok so I’m new to the TAZ5 and Cura but not to CAD, CAM, RP and digital sculpting. I’ve been doing digital sculpting and CAD design since the late 90s. I currently own a Dimension SST 1200ES and ran all my parts on CNC for over 10 years. I only say all this to drive the point home that I’m no newbie to all the technology just Cura and the Taz 5.

After using Cura for the first time today I feel like I’m back I the 90s. I want to fricken screem! WHY is it so Sloooooooooooooow??? Just opening a file the thing bogs like crazy. Taking probably well over a minute just for a dialog box to open then the same thing just for it to refresh and display the files in the directory, then about the same to import the file in to Cura. After ONE day I feel like scrapping the entire prosumer idea and going back to my Dimension. Takes seconds to generate tool path on HUGE HEAVY poly count meshes.

Then WHY the heck isn’t there a button to command it to generate Gcode. EVERY time you make a simple change it automatically RE-regenerates the tool path. That is stupid! What about when your trying to adjust many setting??? Every time you change one thing it regenerates. That bogs your entire system & work flow down. Especially with what seams to be such a poorly written software to begin with.

IS Cura a 64 bit program? Did I install a 32 bit version?

Any input? Am I doing something wrong?

I’m on a custom built Windows 7 64 bit system with plenty RAM can remember My computer is very capable and handles all the Rhino, Z brush I can grow at it with out a hick up.