Toolhead rocking during wiping process

I am a teacher at a school and inherited a taz6 in our makerspace from the previous teacher. I was running it how it was set up until the nozzle tip broke off. I decided to upgrade the toolhead and purchased the SE 2.85mm. I got the universal adapter and followed the information in the startup guide about flashing the firmware. I did not change anything with the z-offset and it is currently at -1.2

When I go to print, in the wiping process, it looks like the nozzle is digging in deeper than it should and the entire toolhead is wobbling up/down during the wipe. Is this normal or should I change the z-offset?

The Z offset is the difference from where the probe (nozzle) measures zero (from the top of the washers) to the print surface after wiping. It will have no effect on the wipe position, as that is done from “mechanical” zero, which is determined by the trigger point of the metal Z limit button and the limit switches for x/y.

Is your nozzle pressing near the center of the button? If not, you may not have selected the tool from the toolhead menu on the printer. If you do not have a toolhead menu on the printer, you need to update to the 2.x “universal” firmware instead of the 1.x that may still be on your inherited printer. It will not automatically update from 1.x to 2.x. You will have to manually select the proper firmware to get on the 2.x upgrade path.

If you’ve done all this, and it’s still wiping too deep, your metal Z limit button may be triggering a little late. You can try and check for a loose switch, or you can adjust the wipe position in your startup GCODE.

Some rocking is normal, as it’s trying its best to get any crud off the nozzle, but without video of how much yours is a-rockin’ I cannot determine the amount of a-knockin’ that’s needed.

It is hitting the center of the button and I selected the new SE Tool head in the settings on both cura and the LED monitor.